The watermarking feature stamps each file with an image that identifies the user who is accessing the file. It acts as a security layer to the file it is being applied to. When watermarking is enabled, it is applied to all file types in the viewer and on PDFs* upon download.
*All files that can be viewed in the web browser will have a watermark applied when viewing. However, only PDFs will receive a watermark when downloaded; all other files will not receive a watermark when downloaded.
See also: Customizing Watermarks
DRM (Digital Rights Management)
If DRM is enabled for a Permissions group, users will be required to enter their CapLinked credentials before viewing downloaded files. Administrators have the option to revoke access to the files at any time, or set a date on which access will be revoked from the Permissions page. If access is revoked, versions of the file that have already been downloaded will no longer be openable.
Non-admin users will not be able to edit, copy, or print downloaded DRM documents.
DRM is directly applied to PDF documents. All Word files will be converted to PDF upon download so DRM can be applied. Please note that all file types, except for Excel file types (i.e. xls or xlxs), will be converted to PDF upon download if DRM is applied.
See also: Administrator's Guide to DRM
Document Editing Feature
With the Editor enabled, workspace admins have the ability to actively edit Word and Excel file types. This allows admins to easily manage new versions of a file and decide which version of a file is displayed on the Files page within the Caplinked browser.
With the Editor enabled, non-admin users with Upload access can use the Editor and save new versions of a file.* Non-admin users without Upload access cannot use the Editor (and will not see the option).
There is an additional option to allow non-admin users without upload access to see the document and any underlying formulas (e.g. with Excel files), but cannot change the text or numbers within the file.
This feature is set on the team level. Therefore, any workspace that is part of a team with this feature enabled will have Editor capabilities.
*Note: When the Editor is enabled, users can copy the content from the files they are viewing in the Editor.
If you would like one or all of these features enabled for your account, please contact email@example.com.